Florida is 1 of 13 states in America that is considered a no-fault insurance state. This means that neither party in a traffic accident will be held responsible for the other’s medical costs related to the crash. It also means that accident victims need not prove fault in order to receive relief following a car accident. Each individual in an accident will be covered by their own individual insurer in a first-party claim, thus making a crash “no-fault.”
The Two Required Types of Coverage
The minimum insurance coverage a resident of Florida must have includes two separate policies. The first is “personal injury protection” (PIP) insurance. This coverage insures any medical expenses resulting from a car accident and covers any potential income losses that one might have due to inability to work after an accident.
PIP insurance also covers:
- Children of the policyholder and other members of the policyholders household
- Children, in the event that they are injured on a school bus
- The policyholder, when the policyholder is involved in a car accident as a pedestrian or cyclist
- Other passengers in the policyholders car at the time of the accident*
*For PIP to cover a policyholder’s passengers, they must not have their own PIP insurance and must not own a car themselves. PIP insurance also covers the policyholder if they are a passenger in a car accident.
The second auto insurance policy a resident of Florida must have is “property damage liability” (PDL) insurance. This is for any damages that a policyholder causes to someone else’s property. For example, if a driver goes off-road and strikes a mailbox, the driver’s PDL insurance will cover repairs or help buy a new mailbox.
The minimum limit for each of these insurances is $20,000 altogether: $10,000 for PDL and $10,000 for PIP.
If, at any time, a policyholder is shown to not have a limit that reaches $10,000 for either, they will receive a date of suspension email. This email will notify the insurance holder that if nothing changes concerning their policy, their license, plates, and registration will all be suspended until the minimum limit is reached.
Additional Coverage Options
Despite the $10,000 minimum law, policyholders may always choose to purchase higher amounts of coverage. In addition to higher coverages, policyholders may also choose to purchase additional coverage options.
Some of these options include:
- Comprehensive Coverage: Damage to your car that is received outside an accident (vandalism)*
- Collision Coverage: Damage that is done to your car due to an accident*
- Towing & Labor Coverage: Fees from towing or other car services
- Uninsured Motorist: Damages incurred by drivers who have no insurance
- Rental Car Coverage: Damage to any rental car you borrow
*If a policyholder is financing a car, these coverages will be required by the lender.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
If a policyholder has a history of accidents, has had their license suspended for traffic violations, or has had their license revoked, the policyholder will be held liable to purchase “bodily injury liability coverage” (BIL) insurance. Bodily injury liability insurance is a policy that covers a driver in the event that he or she is sued by another driver for a severe injury that resulted from an accident that the policyholder caused. BIL insurance is available to any driver, but is legally required for Florida drivers who were classified with insurance penalties.
Take the First Step. Call (305) 770-6335 for a Free Case Review!
If you or a loved one has been hurt, reach out to our Miami auto accident attorneys now. We at Stewart Tilghman Fox Bianchi & Cain, P.A. are dedicated to giving our clients the thorough investigation and attention as they need to obtain relief for their claims. Florida may be a “no-fault” insurance state, but when other drivers cause severe injuries, you have every right to fight for just compensation. Do not hesitate to get help now.
Our Miami car accident attorneys are ready to hear your case!
Call (305) 770-6335 to set-up a free evaluation today.